Future Leaders to be decided at the Knowledge Transfer Partnership Awards 2022

The finalists for the Future Leaders Award at the Innovate UK KTP Awards, which celebrate the UK’s most innovative R&D projects of the last 12 months, have been revealed.

The awards, organised by Innovate UK KTN, celebrate the best three-way innovation partnerships between businesses, academic research teams and individual graduates looking to address climate change and social issues, or improve the UK economy.

The 21 strong contenders competing for the Future Leaders award include nanotechnology PhD, Dr Jacob Mitchell, an expert in semiconductor technology, process engineering, power electronics, energy storage, and sensors, who has been working with SPTS to develop capability on a completely new Molecular Deposition System and has already had a material impact on the business.

Also in the running is Beth Wilson, an expert in woven textile design, who has exceeding the KTP objectives with Harris Tweed Hebrides to explore new product developments and new international markets, with the aim of providing year-round and sustainable business demand for the Harris Tweed Hebrides brand and the home weaver industry on the isles of Lewis and Harris.

Another strong contender is Catherine Campbell, an expert in civil engineering and materials science, working with AG Paving + Building Products to develop a new range of concrete paving stones using surface treatments and additives to improve performance and appearance and use these materials to reduce urban heat islands.  Like Beth Wilson, Catherine has exceeded the KTP objectives early.

Dr Kirsty Hewitson, Interim CEO at Innovate UK KTN, says, “For 45 years, Innovate UK and IUK-KTN have worked to bring together people from disparate sectors and walks of life to form Knowledge Transfer Partnerships. Every year, around 800 incredible KTP projects make progress in addressing some of the biggest issues facing the world.  They are all worth celebrating, but some are really blazing a trail and are bound to positively impact society, the environment, and the economy. That’s what the KTP Awards are all about, and just to be shortlisted is an incredible achievement.”

Other Future Leader finalists include:

o  Chuan Liu, Motor Design Limited, University of Nottingham

o  Emmanuel I. Epelle, ACS Clothing Limited, University of the West of Scotland

o  Calum McCormack, Aggreko, Glasgow Caledonian University

o  Edward Blissitt, Motive Offshore Group, The University of Aberdeen

o  Harsh Shah, East Midlands Chamber , De Montfort University

o  Joshua Green, James Robinson Speciality Ingredients, University of Manchester

o  Juliette Farrell, Elite Bedding Company Ltd, The University of Strathclyde

o  Kate Turley, Chroma Lighting, Ulster University

o  Lulu Qu, Judge Sampson, University of Brighton

o  Matt Maufe, Filament AI, University of Warwick

o  Matthew Ellison, Arktis Endurance Textiles, University of Lincoln

o  Matthew Holland, Shapemaster Global Ltd, Manchester Metropolitan University

o  Max Nentwich, Cambridge Vacuum Engineering, Cranfield University

o  Nour Rteil, Techbuyer, University of East London

o  Qiong Bu, Fitfactory Innovations Ltd, University of Liverpool

o  Sara Bru Garcia, The Together Agency, University of Nottingham

o  Sneha Parajuli, SDG Construction Ltd, Queen’s University Belfast

o  Tania Farhat, AV Unibrak, The University of Manchester

Additional categories at the KTP Awards include:

  • Best Knowledge Transfer Partnership
  • Technical Excellence Award
  • Business Impact & Transformation Award
  • The Changing the World Award
  • Academic of the Year Award
  • Best Knowledge Base KTP Support Team Award

For more details, and to register your place, visit https://www.ktp-uk.org/awards/